HomeAllIPL Emerging Player Winners List - 2008 to 2023 

IPL Emerging Player Winners List – 2008 to 2023 

Every year, the “IPL Emerging Player Award” is given to the young player who has performed the best during the season. Over the past 16 years, the Indian Premier League has provided great youth talent to Indian cricket and other international teams. Yashaswi Jaiswal, Shreyas Iyer, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant, and Axar Patel have consistently excelled in the Indian Premier League.

Players who win the Emerging Player award usually top the IPL betting charts the next year.

IPL Emerging Player List – Criteria for Award

This award is presented to a player who has performed consistently throughout the season and has the potential to become a star in international cricket. These players could also attract interest from bettors in an online cricket betting site. To be eligible for the Emerging Player Award, a player must meet the following four criteria:

  • He should have been born on or after April 1, 1997.
  • He must play five or fewer Test matches or less than 20 ODIs.
  • He must have played only 25 or fewer IPL matches.
  • He should not won the Emerging Player Award before.
  • The winner will be decided by combining the public vote on the IPL official website with the television commentators’ choice.

Top contenders for Emerging Player Award – IPL 2023

  • Three batsmen and three bowlers are emerging players for the 2023 IPL season.
  • The list of batsmen includes Yashaswi Jaiswal from Rajasthan Royals, Rinku Singh from Kolkata Knight Riders and Prabhsimran Singh from Punjab Kings.
  • The list of bowlers includes Mateesha Pathirana from Chennai Super Kings, Noor Ahmed from Gujarat Titans and Mayank Markande from Sunrisers Hyderabad.
Player Team Statistics
Yashasvi Jaiswal Rajasthan Royals 625 Runs
Rinku Singh Kolkata Knight Riders 474 Runs
Prabhsimran Singh Punjab Kings 358 Runs
Matheesha Pathirana Chennai Super Kings 15 Wickets
Noor Ahmad Gujarat Titans 13 Wickets
Mayank Markande Sunrisers Hyderabad 12 Wickets

IPL Emerging Player Award Winners – 2008 to 2023

  • It was named “Best Under-19 Player” award in 2008, “Best Under-23 Player” award in 2009 and “Under-23 Success of the Tournament” in 2010. 
  • In the 2011 and 2012 seasons, the award was called “Rising Star of the Year”. It was named “Best Young Player of the Season” In 2013. 
  • Since 2014, the award has changed to Emerging Player of the Year.
  • Players from Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Daredevils and Punjab Kings won the Emerging Player Award twice.
  • Players from Chennai Super Kings, Gujarat Lions, Mumbai Indians and Deccan Chargers won the Emerging Player Award each time.
Season Emerging Player Team
2023 Yashasvi Jaiswal Rajasthan Royals
2022 Umran Malik Sunrisers Hyderabad
2021 Ruthuraj Gaikwad Chennai Super Kings
2020 Devdutt Padikkal Royal Challengers Bangalore
2019 Shubman Gill Kolkata Knight Riders
2018 Rishabh Pant Delhi Daredevils
2017 Basil Thampi Gujarat Lions
2016 Mustafizur Rahman Sunrisers Hyderabad
2015 Shreyas Iyer Delhi Daredevils
2014 Axar Patel Punjab Kings
2013 Sanju Samson Rajasthan Royals
2012 Mandeep Singh Punjab Kings
2011 Iqbal Abdulla Kolkata Knight Riders
2010 Saurabh Tiwary Mumbai Indians
2009 Rohit Sharma Deccan Chargers
2008 Srivatsava Goswami Royal Challengers Bangalore

Final Thoughts on IPL Emerging Players List

Through the above explanation, information has been given about the cricketers who have been emerging players in the IPL so far. Bangladesh bowler Mustafizur Rahman is the only foreign player to win the Emerging Player Award while playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad team in the 2016 season.

Must Read


Would love your thoughts, please comment.x