HomeAllThe last five winners of the World Snooker Championship

The last five winners of the World Snooker Championship

As the anticipation builds for the upcoming World Snooker Championship at the historic Crucible Theatre in Sheffield, snooker enthusiasts eagerly reminisce about the thrilling battles and extraordinary victories of the past.

With the prestigious tournament set to commence from April 20 to May 6, and Ronnie O’Sullivan the slight favourite in the World Snooker odds, let’s take a look back at the last five winners who etched their names into snooker history.

2023: Luca Brecel

The 2023 championship saw a remarkable upset as Luca Brecel of Belgium emerged victorious, stunning the snooker world by defeating four-time champion Mark Selby 18-15 in a gripping final.

Brecel’s journey to glory included remarkable victories over seasoned players like Mark Williams and the legendary Ronnie O’Sullivan, making his triumph even more remarkable.

Brecel’s triumph on the sport’s grandest stage will be remembered for years to come, as the plucky underdog overcame the biggest names in the sport in the face of adversity.

2022: Ronnie O’Sullivan

In 2022, the indomitable Ronnie O’Sullivan once again proved his mastery on the green baize by claiming his seventh world title.

Facing off against Judd Trump in the final, O’Sullivan showcased his brilliance and experience, securing an 18-13 victory to equal Stephen Hendry’s record in the modern era.

His path to victory saw him overcome formidable opponents such as David Gilbert, Mark Allen, Stephen Maguire, and John Higgins.

2021: Mark Selby

The 2021 championship belonged to the tenacious Selby, who captured his fourth World Championship title with a hard-fought 18-15 triumph over Shaun Murphy in the final.

Selby’s gritty performance throughout the tournament, which included wins over the likes of Allen, Williams, and Stuart Bingham, showcased his resilience and skill under pressure.

Selby is the third favourite to win a fifth World Championship in the snooker betting tips with odds of 7/1.

2020: Ronnie O’Sullivan

Ending a seven-year drought, O’Sullivan reclaimed the World Championship crown in 2020 with a dominant display of snooker prowess.

The “Rocket” delivered a masterclass performance in the final, overpowering Kyren Wilson with an emphatic 18-8 victory.

O’Sullivan’s journey to glory featured victories over formidable opponents such as Ding Junhui, Williams, and Selby, solidifying his status as one of the sport’s all-time greats.

2019: Judd Trump

In 2019, Trump fulfilled his long-awaited dream by clinching his maiden World Championship title spectacularly.

Trump’s electrifying style of play dazzled spectators as he stormed through the tournament, culminating in an emphatic 18-9 victory over Higgins in the final.

His path to glory included impressive victories over Ding, Maguire, and Wilson, cementing his status as a force to be reckoned with in the world of snooker.

As the world eagerly waits for the next chapter of snooker history to unfold at the iconic Crucible Theatre, these unforgettable triumphs serve as a testament to the skill, determination, and sheer brilliance of the sport’s greatest champions.

Who will add their name to this illustrious list of winners in the upcoming championship? Only time will tell.

Must Read


Would love your thoughts, please comment.x